Can someone please erase my mind? I want to watch Batman again.

The only problem with Christopher Nolan’s Dark Knight Trilogy is that I will never be able to watch it for the first time again. I will always know what’s coming next. Don’t get me wrong, that hasn’t stopped me from re-watching the movies. I’ve watched them far too many times for my own good. It’s just that I’ll never see Batman ‘question’ Scarecrow, whilst Scarecrow is under his own spell, for the first time. I’ll never see Heath Ledger walk into The Gotham Mobster Therapy Group for the first time. And I’ll never see Bruce Wayne in a pit, with a broken back, watching his city being torn apart, and think: How the hell is he going to get out of this one? Talk about putting your hero in a tree and throwing rocks at them? The exhilaration, excitement and amazement contained in these films makes me want to write and direct. It makes me want to pull people into worlds of wonder and gasp and laugh and cry and say ‘This is great!’ or ‘This is terrible!’ and start conversations. Art is all about change. Changing the way people look at things, changing the world and changing myself. That is what drives my creativity. That is what drives me.

Leave a Reply

