Negative Reviews – Feedback Required

In order to keep The Film Diary regularly updated, I decided to keep, well, a Film Diary. Meaning: Every film I watch, old or new, I post a brief review.

This presented no problem for the first 2 movies in the diary, as they were great and good films, respectively. The last film I watched, however, was almost irredeemably awful, nearly to the point of me switching it off. Now, should the Film Diary include the good, the bad and the ugly, as I see it? Is it dishonest to omit films I consider poor? My reluctance to post ‘negative’ reviews is in part wishing to avoid controversy. I don’t want to get into a battle with keyboard warriors, but I would like to engage in meaningful discussion. One of my favourite podcasts, Man of Steel Answers, Insight, Commentary, always begins with the phrase “Reasonable minds will differ“, and I believe this.  It has also been my experience that meaningful discussion can lead to my viewpoint changing.

So, with that in mind, I politely request the feedback of my fellow students: Should I post negative reviews of the films I watch? Or should I only post reviews of the films I enjoy?

One thought on “Negative Reviews – Feedback Required

Leave a Reply

